About Me And The Voices

Me: I’m a 41-year-old married working mother of two boys and three step-kids (see below).  I am a big dork, and will do just about anything to get a laugh. I try to remain positive as much as possible, which is why I don’t watch the news. My family is the most important part of my life, and I love them all so much, even if they don’t laugh at my jokes, or are embarrassed by me (jerks!). Also, I’m a liberal.

The Voices:First of all there are the ones in my head that drive me crazy when I’m trying to go to sleep. Usually they don’t even make sense, just a bunch of jibber jabber or lyrics to a song repeating over and over. I don’t know who these people are, but they need to chill out. Perhaps I need an exorcism. Next, there are the voices that I use in daily life. For instance, I cannot see any type of animal on TV without inserting my own dialogue for that animal, in whatever voice I choose for it. Hubby thinks I missed my calling as a cartoon voice-over person. (I never got the call, however). Then there are the various accents that I use to amuse myself and annoy my children.  There are lots of them, like British (many different forms of this one), Indian, New Jersey, Southern, Redneck, and many more. The ones I haven’t yet perfected are Irish and Scottish.

But the most important voices are the ones of my family. Instead of just using their initials (which is totally boring and confusing), I’ve decided to give them names and tell you a little bit about them.

Nature Boy is my husband. I was going to call him Nature Man, but that made him sound like a nudist. He’s the love of my life, my soul-mate. A wonderful artist and a true tree-hugger, he’s taught me so much about living a life that’s better for not only ourselves, but for the environment as well. He’s a very private person, so I won’t be giving up too much information about him 🙂

Smart-Aleck is my 12-year-old son, my first-born. He’s getting to the age where he loves making fun of me, and has started to develop a quick wit. I secretly love this about him. Plus he is VERY smart. He is a superstar at baseball and recently joined the swim team, where he is proving to be quite a formidable foe. So, his name is a term of endearment, not an insult.

Surfer Boy is my 6-year-old son. I call him this because he’s a blonde-haired, blue-eyed little guy who embraces life with such a happy-go-lucky attitude. He is a true renaissance man, excelling in baseball and swimming (like his big brother), and yet loves to dance, draw, read, etc. (But he doesn’t surf. Yet.) He just finished kindergarten, where he was one of the top students in his class.

Blondie is my 25-year-old stepdaughter. Beautiful on the inside and the outside,  she’s very outgoing and unconventional. She’s extremely creative like her father, and loves to make things herself, from food to greeting cards. She’s getting married on June 27th to a wonderful guy that we all love. (I’ll have to come up with a name for him.) We’re hoping she finishes college sometime soon.

Rosie is my 18-year-old stepdaughter, who is just as beautiful as her sister. She is a social butterfly and a bit of a drama queen. She’ll be going to college in the fall, and hopefully will be taking all of her clothes with her. (We can’t see her floor anymore.) Bubbly and a tad ditzy at times, she always makes us laugh (unless she hasn’t done her laundry in a month).

Strong Silent Guy is my 15-year-old stepson. He’s quiet and shy like his dad, but if you can get him to talk, he’s quite funny and outgoing. But only when he wants to be. He is an awesome wrestler and is in the marching band. Smart as a whip, and handsome to boot. Oh, and he likes guns. *shudder*

That’s the family! We also have other characters like Sports Dad (my ex and father of my sons), Jo (Nature Boy’s ex and the mother of his kids), and Mr. Positive (Jo’s husband). We all get along frighteningly well, which is the way I wish it could be for everyone.

So there you have it,  me and the voices in a nutshell. I’ll add more as they pop up!

3 Comments

  1. Posted June 18, 2009 at 3:36 am | Permalink

    Nice to meet you all!

  2. Danegin
    Posted June 18, 2009 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

    Loved your blog! THERE ARE NO ACCIDENTS IN LIFE! While feverishly looking (again) for a friend’s blog, I stumbled upon yours. Perhaps “stumbled” is the wrong word because it was more like, I ‘smoothly glided upon’ yours. We have alot in common. My ‘smart-aleck’ is 10. My children’s dad and I are divorced and for the most part, we have always gotten along..famously at times, with the “others” (and I will add that there haven’t been MANY)that have come into our lives. Please keep on. Keep on writingand keep on living!
    Thank you Voices!

  3. Posted June 19, 2009 at 9:03 pm | Permalink

    I have many voices too, they seem to enjoy getting together at bed time and put together a commitee of sorts.

    So nice to “meet” all of you.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] under Nature Boy Leave a Comment  Four years ago (June 21st, 2005), I first met Nature Boy – during a job interview. As he interviewed me, I thought, “Wow, he’s really […]

  2. […] Fun Leave a Comment  Tomorrow, Nature Boy and I are going on a road trip with my two sons, Smart Aleck and Surfer Boy. It’s about a 6-1/2 to 7 hour trip, which isn’t THAT long, but with those two, it could […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

