Road Trip!

Tomorrow, Nature Boy and I are going on a road trip with my two sons, Smart Aleck and Surfer Boy. It’s about a 6-1/2 to 7 hour trip, which isn’t THAT long, but with those two, it could be an eternity. Especially given their penchant to bug the crap out of each other (and me) in the car. Here’s an example of a recent car ride:

SA & SB: (generally antagonizing each other)

Me: “Stop.”

SA & SB: (more antagonizing)

Me: “STOP!”

SA & SB: (still more antagonizing)

Me: (very loudly, with the wild-eyed crazy look) “Do you REALLY want to see me lose my mind????”

SA: “Sort of.”

Me:

 

So, you see what I’m dealing with! To combat this, I am bringing along the following:

  • Portable DVD player with two screens that mount on the back of each headrest.
  • Our family-friendly DVD collection (at least 30)
  • MORE family-friendly DVDs that I’m going to rent at Blockbuster today (because “We’ve already seeeeeeeeen all of those!”)
  • Smart Aleck’s Nintendo DS
  • Smart Aleck’s iPod Touch
  • Surfer Boy’s iPod
  • Surfer Boy’s Leapster
  • Books for both of them, including puzzle books
  • Snacks – all healthy, of course (snigger)

And if none of those work, I’m breaking out the Benadryl. For all of us. (Except Nature Boy, our fearless driver.)

Feel free to leave any other suggestions in the comments! Hope everyone has a safe and happy 4th!!!

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 2, 2009 at 1:08 pm | Permalink

    Dude. Where is vodka on that list?

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 2, 2009 at 2:54 pm | Permalink

      I KNEW I forgot something! Told Nature Boy he should bring lots of beer for himself. But then I’d have to drive.

  2. Posted July 3, 2009 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    Lollipops always buy me ten minutes of quiet time.
    Also, car games.
    Have a good trip!

  3. Posted July 3, 2009 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

    I tell the teens that if they continue with the bickering I will walk about the house in my bra and panties. The oldest called my bluff once, guess how that turned out?

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 5, 2009 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

      Oh, I LOVE that idea! I’m going to have to use that one one them!!

  4. Posted July 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm | Permalink

    It’s not even me going but just reading about that long of a road trip makes me stressed. Thank god for portable DVD players. But they still fight over the controls. Le sigh!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 9, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink

      The DVD player was a life-saver. Or I should say a sanity-saver. Best money I’ve ever spent. The boys watched movies almost the entire time, never even touched each other. I don’t care if their brains are all rotted out now. They’ll live. 😉


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

