My God!

Religion is such a volatile subject that I thought I’d get this post out of the way early on, while I have very few readers. That way, I’ll offend less people.

  • I believe in God.
  • My family did not go to church when I was a child, but we did go to a Methodist church every once in a while when I was a teenager.
  • I do not go to church now, and I don’t belong to any organized religion.
  • I believe that not going to church regularly was one of the greatest gifts my parents ever gave to me, because it allowed me to find my own path.
  • I believe that religions that use the Bible as an excuse for hatred are REALLY missing the point, and this makes me angry. But not so angry that I would, say, bomb a building or anything.
  • I believe that a religion that does not allow a mother and father to witness their own daughter’s wedding simply because they are not members of that religion shouldn’t wonder why people think they’re a cult.
  • I believe that the Constitution, not the Bible, should determine who is fit to marry.
  • I believe that God could care less whether we capitalize “His” name, and I don’t believe that he wants or needs to be worshipped. He’s the perfect being, and has no ego that needs to be stroked.
  • I believe that God has a wicked sense of humor. I mean come on, farts? He wants you to laugh!
  • I believe that God gave us FREE WILL so that we can learn for ourselves the consequences of our actions, good and bad.
  • I believe that The Golden Rule is the ultimate message of God. Treat people the way you want to be treated, with love and respect.
  • I believe that we are ALL connected through God and to God, regardless of our beliefs. Every single person on this planet.
  • I believe that if we all could recognize this, and respect the notion that we’re all just using different methods to get to the same place, that the world would be a much better place.
  • I don’t believe this will happen in my lifetime, but I have hope for future generations.
  • I believe that people spend too much time focusing on how to ensure a spot in Heaven when they die, and not enough time realizing that Heaven’s here on Earth. Right here. Right now.
  •  I believe that when we do die, we ALL go to Heaven. Everyone. Regardless of our religion, crimes we’ve committed, whether or not we’ve been baptized or saved, or whether or not we’re one of the “chosen ones”.
  • And finally I believe, no actually I know, that no one knows for sure what The Truth is. No one, except God.

But hey, that’s just me.

15 Comments

  1. Posted July 9, 2009 at 2:14 pm | Permalink

    Hey! I found you from mommy wants vodka’s troll post.

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. Religion is something I struggle with living in the Bible Belt. Too often people’s actions don’t match what they’re preaching. Good post.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 9, 2009 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

      Hi Katy! Thanks so much for stopping by, and for the compliment! I was nervous about posting, but sometimes you’ve just gotta say what’s on your mind 😉

  2. Posted July 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    This one could’ve come right out of my own head! Great post!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 9, 2009 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

      Thanks Kristina! I love your blog, and it frustrates me to no end that I can’t comment on it from work. It’s bizarre!

  3. Virginia in Seattle
    Posted July 9, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for this post. I agree with about 90% of it and in this crazy world that almost makes us twins. Keep up the good work and great writing.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 8:53 am | Permalink

      Hi Virginia in Seattle!! Thank YOU for commenting, for visiting my blog, and for the compliments! I love Seattle, by the way. My sis lives there.

  4. Posted July 9, 2009 at 9:04 pm | Permalink

    I also just found you from Mommy Wants Vodka’s troll post.
    I agree with most of what you said, but I am at the point where I don’t really know what I personally believe.
    Its a very tough subject and you wrote very eloquently. Maybe when I figure it out for myself more I’ll write something too.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 8:51 am | Permalink

      You’re right. It is such a tough subject, and there are so many opinions out there. I just wish we could all agree to disagree.

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog!

  5. Honeybee
    Posted July 9, 2009 at 10:33 pm | Permalink

    It’s lovely to hear you express such lovely thoughts from your heart and not from anger. As Kicking Bird says to Dances With Wolves, “you are on the path of a true human being.”

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 8:49 am | Permalink

      Aww, thanks Honeybee. Coming from you, that truly means a lot! 🙂

  6. ElectraWoman
    Posted July 10, 2009 at 4:10 pm | Permalink

    Absolutely perfect.

    And it’s nice to know that doesn’t mean I have to start worshiping you. I mean, more than I already do.

    Now, when I go find this “Mommy Wants Vodka troll post,” am I gonna have to kick some ass?

    • ElectraWoman
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 4:18 pm | Permalink

      Never mind, I figured it out. It was a post about trolls, and you commented on it. Whew. Thought someone mighta gone troll (“trolled?”) on you.

      • justmeandthevoices
        Posted July 10, 2009 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

        Nah, I haven’t gotten any trolls yet, thank God. If I do however, you’ll be the first person I call for the ass-kicking.

  7. Posted April 15, 2011 at 10:30 am | Permalink

    You’ve hit the ball out the park! Inrcdieble!

  8. Posted April 23, 2011 at 3:09 am | Permalink

    iC4RSy oxsbeeshetsk


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

