Happy Birthday ElectraWoman!

It was my first day of kindergarten, back in September of 1973. I was starting a few weeks later than the rest of the students, because my family had moved right after school had begun. I was very nervous, not only because it was the start of my school career, but also because I was “the new kid”.

The first person I noticed was a pretty little girl in a red dress. She was quite exotic looking, with her rich dark hair and tanned skin. She encouraged me to play with her, and from that moment, we were best friends.

We had such a strong kinship, sharing a love of performing and role playing, whether it be putting on variety shows in the front yard, recording radio programs (KLUV) complete with Pizza Butt commercials, or fighting crime with our alter egos ElectraWoman and DynaGirl. (She was EW and I was DG.)

It would be more accurate if their hair color was switched

It would be more accurate if their hair color was switched

One of our most favorite activities was going to the pool, which was right across the street from her house. We’d stand in line at 9:30 every single morning of the summer, waiting for it to open. We’d swim until around noon, go have lunch at her house, and go back for the afternoon.

Hello, skin cancer!

Hello, skin cancer!

When we were around 10, we started dance lessons together. Talk about the perfect outlet for our need to perform!

Wonder Twin powers, activate!

Wonder Twin powers, activate!

But the dance lessons did much more than feed our need to perform. You see, both of our sets of parents had divorced right around the same time. I lived with my mom, and she lived with her dad. My mom would take us to dance lessons, and her dad would pick us up. We always managed to convince him to take us out for pizza afterwards. He was a sucker for our charm, even though we embarrassed him constantly by singing and dancing to The Village People right in front of the jukebox, wearing our dance leotards, skirts and roller skates! (Oh, how I WISH I had a picture of that.)

But one day, her father invited my mother to join us for pizza, and she accepted. This was the beginning of a wonderful romance, and they were married two years later. My best friend had become my sister!

We remained best friends throughout junior high and high school. And even though we went to separate colleges and became wildly different people, we still remain best friends today. She really is ElectraWoman — strong, confident, smart and beautiful, all rolled into one. And today is her birthday.

Happy Birthday, ElectraWoman. You’ll always be my best friend. I love you!

Now, everyone enjoy this special video that sums up my feelings for her.

6 Comments

  1. MathGeek
    Posted July 10, 2009 at 10:20 am | Permalink

    This is absolutely wonderful! Happy Birthday, Electra Woman!!

    I moved to the hometown of Electra Woman and Dyna Girl in the 8th grade. I was very shy but managed to meet these two toward the end of the school year. They turned me on to the world of Drill Team, and we danced and drilled together for the remainder of our school days. Their parents became my “family” in the midst of troubles among my own, and I will remember and be grateful for that forever!! I have lots of memories of good fun and good laughs, but I probably shouldn’t share them here. ;)~

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 10:27 am | Permalink

      Yes, MathGeek completed our triumvirate of awesomeness!!

      And yeah, let’s keep those “memories” to ourselves, shall we? I have incriminating pictures of you as well, MathGeek.

      😉

  2. Posted July 10, 2009 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

    I can’t believe you ended up being sisters!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 10, 2009 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

      Isn’t that awesome? Our parents told us about their engagement separately, and right afterward, we ended up at the grocery store at the same time. We saw each other down the aisle and ran to each other, hugging, jumping down, etc.

  3. Posted July 22, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    That is so cool!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 23, 2009 at 7:55 am | Permalink

      Yeah, it’s really wonderful!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] I’ve already told the story about how my mother married my best friend’s father and we became stepsisters. What I haven’t told you is that not only did I gain a stepsister, […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

