Proof That I’m Not Illiterate

I love books. Books are like oxygen to me. (Why yes, I DO have a flair for the dramatic!) Particularly audiobooks. I go a little nuts if I don’t have an audiobook playing in the car at all times. But I also READ as well, just not as many books as I listen to. I thought I’d share two of my favorite authors with you.

Favorite author #1: Marshall Karp. His Lomax and Biggs murder mystery series is to die for. (Get it? Murder? To die for? I kill me. HA! There I go again!) “Blending the gritty realism of a Joseph Wambaugh police procedural with the sardonic humor of Janet Evanovich, Karp delivers a treat that’s not only laugh-out-loud funny but also remarkably suspenseful.” — Publisher’s Weekly (I have no idea who Joseph Wambaugh is. I was just too lazy to come up with a description of my own, so I stole this from Amazon.)

Start off with The Rabbit Factory, the first in the series. It’s a bit long, but you really get to know and love the characters so much in this one. And by the time you get to the other two, you feel like you’ve known them for years. Marshall Karp may disagree with me and say to read Flipping Out first, since it’s his latest work, and perhaps he thinks it’s better. But guess what? Marshall Karp isn’t my dad, and is not the boss of me.

THIS is my Dad, and even he isn’t the boss of me:

Yep, that's my dad with 50, yes 50, grapes in his mouth and one eye crossed.

Yep, that's my dad with 50, yes 50, grapes in his mouth and one eye crossed.

Because clearly he’s in a mental institution. (My Dad, not Marshall Karp.) OK, I’m lying.  He lives in Boca, golfs every day and mows the lawn in black socks and shorts with suspenders. Not really.

Also, I HIGHLY recommend listening to the Lomax and Biggs series on audio. The reader is wonderful, giving each character his/her own voice that turns out extremely believable. And don’t miss Bloodthirsty, the second in the series. It’s particularly wicked, in a good way. Oh, and stop by his website, where you can read his blog, learn all about the characters, order books, etc. (I’m a regular stalker of the blog.)

Favorite Author #2: Christopher Moore. His books are absolutely hilarious, especially if you like the bizarre and outrageous. He’s written books on so many topics: whales, vampires, Jesus, King Lear, Death (like, the person, or entity, or whatever), gigantic lizards, and more!

I’ve read all of his books, and each one is a masterpiece in itself, but one of my absolute favorites is You Suck: A Love Story. But if you’re going to get this one, you MUST get the audiobook, if only for the character of Abby Normal, a 16-year-old goth (yet sometimes perky) girl. Trust me on this one, Abby Normal is so much better on audio than you could ever come up with using your own imagination. Seriously, if you don’t get it on audio, you’re dead to me. You can also check our Chris’ website, which is full of all kinds of wacky stuff.

So, those are my top two. I have more, which I’ll share at a later date. Otherwise this post would get really, really long. And since I don’t have any Marshall or Chris to read/listen to at the moment, I’m currently listening to Anybody Out There? by Marian Keyes, right on the heels of This Charming Man by the same author. I’m really loving her! And one that I’m actually reading (you know, with my eyes) is Mental by Eddie Sarfaty. It’s pretty funny, but not a top pick for the homophobic. Just so you know.

So, it’s your turn. What are YOUR favorite books?

13 Comments

  1. Posted July 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

    O.M.G. This is my favorite topic. My husband always makes fun of how many books I have, and that one of my goals in life is to live in a house w/ a library. Or at least a family room w/ built in shelves! I could go on FOREVER about my favorite books-here is the very (very) short list:

    Anything by Wally Lamb, The Time Traveler’s Wife, Water for Elephants, Pillars of the Earth (and it’s sequal, whose name is escaping me right now), Harry Potter (I KNOW), The Red Tent, Jodi Picoult’s stuff, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs are hilarious, ok I need to shut up now.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 14, 2009 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

      OOh I listened to The Time Traveler’s Wife, and loved it. I have got to read Pillars, and it’s predecessor, I keep hearing good things about them. David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs would be #3 and #4 on my list! Never read any Picoult or any of the Harry Potter! So many books, so little time…

  2. Honeybee
    Posted July 14, 2009 at 2:15 pm | Permalink

    “Not the boss of me” is my boss and, though the photo doesn’t exactly inspire passion, it does tickle my funnybone! I can palpitate imagining those black socks with shorts and sandlals! What a dork! And such disrespect for we Boca Babes! (Didn’t ya like that I didn’t use the traditional B word for the women of our fair town?)

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm | Permalink

      Did you put enought sunscreen on today, Honeybee? I know how you like to sit out on the beach and get a deep, dark tan. But you’re going to get skin cancer! And wrinkles. Tell Dad to put on some pants for God’s sake.

  3. Posted July 14, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

    I love Terry Pratchett and his Diskworld series. But seeing as I have read every single one I’ve been looking for new books to read. I’m gonna go find your suggestions. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

    And, like Kristina, I loved Harry Potter (the books are much better than the movies) and the audio Harry Potter is great too, the british guy doing all the voices is amazing!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 14, 2009 at 3:53 pm | Permalink

      If you love Terry Pratchett, I think you’d love Christopher Moore!

      I’ve always wanted to read the Harry Potter books. One of these days I’ll get around to it!

      • Posted April 15, 2011 at 8:38 am | Permalink

        Home run! Great slggiung with that answer!

  4. Posted July 15, 2009 at 2:54 am | Permalink

    Let’s see… Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead, then the Claudine novels by Colette. Almost anything by William Gibson (his last novel moved a bit away from “cyberpunk” – which is what he’s good at). The Dune series by Frank Herbert. Yeah, I guess I AM a nerd!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 15, 2009 at 8:50 am | Permalink

      You’re not a nerd! Ayn Rand is some serious stuff! I had to look up William Gibson. Looks interesting, but I don’t know if my tiny brain can handle the technology 😉

  5. Posted July 15, 2009 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

    This is eerie. I’m obsessed with recorded books too. I never get much time to read anymore so I have to listen in the car, on the ipod, etc. I also like Christopher more and got to meet him once at a book signing. I was sitting my myself waiting for it to start (front row of course – dork) and instead of skulking in the background before taking the mic, he sat down next to me. He is very fun (and really, really friendly). If you ever get the chance to see him in person, definitely go. He’s an excellent speaker.

    I actually read Is Anybody Out there a couple of years ago. But I’ve recently “listened” to some other books of hers. IAOT is currently still my favorite – but I’m hoping a story about Helen will come out next. Helen was by far my favorite of the sisters. Hilarious!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 15, 2009 at 6:56 pm | Permalink

      YAY! Another audio-bibliophile! I’m so jealous that you got to meet Christopher Moore!

      Unfortunately, the only audiobooks by Marian keys that my library has are IAOT and This Charming Man. I really want to be able to listen to them. Maybe I’ll check some of the other libraries around town. Helen is quite the character, and I agree, a book about her would be great!

  6. Mel
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 11:46 am | Permalink

    I can’t believe you’ve never mentioned Marshall Karp to me. Why ya been holdin’ out there jackrabbit!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 29, 2009 at 3:14 pm | Permalink

      Ummm, I do believe I have mentioned him to you. But you have a baby now, and you forget things. Get used to it!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] added the pictures and captions. It’s about my father, Daddy O’Grape. You know, the 50 Grapes Guy. Honeybee doesn’t have a blog, but she is a spectacular counselor. She is a loving, […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

