God It’s Hot Up Here!

Those are the words I speak most every day in the summer, when it’s at least 10 degrees hotter upstairs than it is downstairs. And let me tell you, I’m not a nice person when I’m hot. (Or cold. Or hungry. Or tired.) Just ask Nature Boy, as he gets the brunt of my bitching.

But the absolute worst of the worst is after I’ve showered and blow-dried my hair. The bathroom is already steamy from the shower, then add 8-10  minutes of using a hot blow dryer, and I’m a sweaty, bitchy mess. How am I supposed to put makeup on when my face is dripping? (By the way, my face sweats the most AND gets beet red when I’m hot.  Pretty! My face would make a nice salt lick for a deer.) So I usually end up dragging our fan over to the bathroom entrance so it can dry the sweat as I apply my makeup and flat iron my hair. 

The other morning, I was nagging to Nature Boy that if I could have any super power it would be the ability to do my hair with the quick flick of a wrist. (I’d do it like Samantha on Bewitched, but I can’t wiggle my nose like that.) Any style, any length, etc. No blow dryers, flat irons, curling irons or product needed. Voila!

But then once I got that super power I just know I’d get greedy and want more. I’d want to be able to step inside a special closet like Jane on The Jetsons and come out looking fabulous every time. But even then, it wouldn’t be enough.

How about the ability to just wake up and be ready to go? No showering, teeth brushing, leg shaving, moisturizing, tweezing, etc. Oh, and of course I’d have to add in the ability to eat whatever I wanted, and still have a HEALTHY, fit body, without having to diet or exercise.

Next would be the ability to grow a money tree in the back yard so none of us would have to work. We’d be able to do whatever we wanted, when we wanted, and not have to worry about saving for our children’s educations or our retirement.

So eventually all I’d do is eat, sleep and watch TV. Unless I had something fun to do like travel, which would be wicked awesome because I could afford it, I’d look and feel fabulous, and I wouldn’t have to pack. (Wait, I’d need to add in teleportation so I wouldn’t have to suffer the airlines.)

So basically what I’m trying to say is that super powers are like Lay’s potato chips. Betcha can’t have just one.

So, what would YOUR super power(s) be?

17 Comments

  1. Blue Angel
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    The power to reduce a stupid person to a pile of smoldering ashes. Of course, that could be dangerous on the highway, not to mention a lot of co-workers would be missing. 😉

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 22, 2009 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

      HA! That one made me snort! And yes, A LOT of co-workers would be missing!

  2. Blue Angel
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Just kidding on that co-worker comment (well, mostly)! 😉

  3. Posted July 22, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    Invisibility. I would love to hear it when people are talking about me 🙂 Or teleportation. Every driver but me sucks. 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm | Permalink

      Every driver but you AND me!

  4. Posted July 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm | Permalink

    I’d definitely want to teleport, snap my fingers and I’d be at my destination. I hate commuting and traveling of most sorts.
    I do enjoy being at a different place though so I would like the ability to speak any language (you know like that movie City of Angels with the angels that watched over the humans and could speak any language?). I would love to be able to communicate with anyone. Oh, and lets not forget the ability to multi-task. I think if I could grow another set of arms when necessary, that would be great. 🙂
    ps – I agree with Blue Angel with the smoldering of the stupid, I’m just worried I’d be a part of the ashes…

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 23, 2009 at 7:53 am | Permalink

      OMG, City of Angels is one of my favorite movies, except I never watch the ending. Why did they have to ruin it with that ending???? Oooh, since we’re talking about multi-tasking and growing another pair of arms, how about being able to clone ourselves like in that one Michael Keaton movie? See, with the smoldering the stupid ability, we would have this special anti-smoldering force field around us. Problem solved!

  5. Posted July 24, 2009 at 5:10 pm | Permalink

    I know I probably should say my super power would be to end world hunger or to give all 3rd world country families a cow or something.

    But honestly?

    It would be the ability to eat whatever cookie/cake I want and not gain weight.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 25, 2009 at 10:16 am | Permalink

      Amen to that, sister!!!

  6. Posted July 25, 2009 at 3:44 pm | Permalink

    Definitely the hair and money thing, too.
    And I would have superconfidence with peoplemesmerizing powers – I would just go up to anyone I like and MAKE THEM MY FRIEND. Just like that.
    (Yes, I know – creepy.)

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 26, 2009 at 9:31 am | Permalink

      That IS creepy, but I like it! Mind control is always a good thing.

  7. Posted July 26, 2009 at 6:50 pm | Permalink

    The ability to write by telepathy.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 26, 2009 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

      Now THAT would be nice. But what if you just wrote what automatically came into your brain. That might get me institutionalized.

    • Posted April 15, 2011 at 2:04 am | Permalink

      5fVKCz Very true! Makes a change to see smoenoe spell it out like that. 🙂

    • Posted April 23, 2011 at 4:03 am | Permalink

      tK196E ozexupmawyxo

  8. Mel
    Posted July 29, 2009 at 11:42 am | Permalink

    You are a huge dork and that’s why I love ya!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted July 29, 2009 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

      It takes one to know one!!!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] minutes, in a room heated to 105 degrees. Yes, ONE HUNDRED AND FIVE DEGREES. Have I mentioned that I hate being hot? I sweat like a whore in church, and my face gets redder than your shirt. (Just pretend […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

