Blame it on Aunt Becky

On May 11, 2008, I read this post by Aunt Becky of Mommy Wants Vodka. She’s my favorite blogger. We’re like this: || mostly because I stalk her. She probably wishes we were more like this |                                              |. Anyway, do you SEE that adorable puppy??? I think I ovulated when I saw that picture. She said that it was a Shiba Inu, which I’d never heard of. So I went to my good friend Google and learned all about these adorable dogs.

Turns out it’s a Japanese breed, similar to an Akita, but smaller. They’re a very spirited bunch, and often have the temperament of a cat.  Very intelligent, they often get bored in obedience classes because they learn so quickly. They’re also very clean, and rarely need baths. All good points in my book. Sure, they shed like a mofo, but what’s a little hair? Heh.

So, for months I had it in my head that I wanted one of these adorable angels. Then came the Shiba Inu Puppy Cam, where I could watch six Shiba puppies frolick and sleep all day long. (I was quite productive at work during this time. Ahem. )

But when winter came along, the thought of taking a puppy outside multiple times a day in the cold and snow tempered my desire quite a bit. And then when spring came, so did Coco. I got my motherly fix, until we had to give her to the Wildlife Rehab Clinic so she could be prepared to be released back into the wild.

After Coco left, I really wanted something to care for, but wasn’t sure what. Nature Boy has a strong dislike for cats (See honey, I didn’t say HATE!), and wasn’t very amenable to getting a dog either.  He’s very happy being pet-free. I considered a chinchilla, but it didn’t really trip my trigger that much.

So, a couple of weeks ago, using a little free time I had at work, I started looking for Shibas. You know, JUST BROWSING. And I came across this website: www.savingshibas.com My eye was immediately drawn to the sentence that read, “SIRA is in desperate need of foster homes!”. Hmmm, fostering might be a neat thing to do, I thought. I emailed the contact person and asked if they still needed foster homes in Missouri. She said they had 10 dogs on a waiting list that were at high risk for being euthanized, and YES they needed foster homes!

So I emailed Nature Boy first and asked him if it was OK for me to fill out a foster application, and to my wild surprise he said yes. (Normally I just do things and tell him about it later.) I filled out the application, gave them personal references  to call , and then waited. That same day, I was contacted by one of the representatives to schedule a home visit. This is so they can make sure I’m not a serial killer or that I don’t manage a dog fighting ring.

And guess what, y’all? I’m getting a dog!! You see, there’s this puppy mill breeder in Arkansas who has 10 females that are all 6-9 years old. They had served their purpose as breeder moms, and so he was just going to euthanize all of them! (Bastard. Maybe someone should euthanize him when his breeding days are over. I’ll volunteer.) Luckily SIRA saved the day (and the dogs) by finding foster homes for all of them.

So, on August 22nd, I will become the foster mommy of this beautiful girl:

So Pretty!

So pretty!

To say I’m excited would be a huge understatement. I’ve already bought everything she needs, including a rockin’ leash/collar/harness  set that has a light pink background with tiny black skulls & crossbones.

Now I’m just wondering if I’m actually going to be able to give her up for adoption. As her foster mom, I get to choose who she goes to. And I might just choose myself.

But this gal needs a name! A lot of people that own Shibas use Japanese names, but I haven’t really found one that excites me. So please leave me any suggestions in the comments. Here are some that I’ve come up with so far:

Lola
Willow
Kaia
Pixie
Lily

Thanks for your help! And if anyone is interested in adopting a Shiba, or in become a foster home, please check out the SIRA website: www.savingshibas.com

29 Comments

  1. Posted August 6, 2009 at 3:05 pm | Permalink

    I really like Kaia! I think it’s unique enough to go with her breed. She is gorgeous and I can’t wait to meet her!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 6, 2009 at 4:13 pm | Permalink

      I like it spelled “Kaya” too.

  2. Jennifer
    Posted August 6, 2009 at 6:38 pm | Permalink

    You absolutely rock 🙂 People who foster doggies are angels.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:51 am | Permalink

      Oh, thank you so much!

  3. Posted August 6, 2009 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    Looks JUST like Auggie, who I must tell you, has turned into an amazing dog.

    I think “Aunt Becky” suits her. But really, I like Lily.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:51 am | Permalink

      YAY for Auggie! I’m so glad that he’s gotten better.

      Would that not be the most hysterical thing? “This is my dog Aunt Becky.” Maybe that can be her middle name!!!

  4. Posted August 6, 2009 at 7:27 pm | Permalink

    Now THAT is one cute dog. I like Kaia best.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:50 am | Permalink

      Thanks! I think she’s pretty adorable myself. I like Kaia too. Has that Japanese ring to it without going too far like calling her Suzuki or something 😉

  5. Posted August 6, 2009 at 8:50 pm | Permalink

    She really is gorgeous. The bastard who used her for breeding didn’t give her a name?
    If he didn’t, I vote for Lily. 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:48 am | Permalink

      Thanks! Yes the bastard gave her a name — Nelly Rose. But I don’t think she’s had much attention as far as being allowed to be a regular dog, so she probably doesn’t even know her name. We were encouraged to change their names if we wanted to, so I’m going for it.

  6. Posted August 6, 2009 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    I like Kaia and Lily. What a cutie! I’ve got a feeling you’re not going to be able to give her up, though 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:47 am | Permalink

      Thanks for the help! I know what you mean. Hubby hopes I’ll give her up, but we’ll just wait and see!

  7. Posted August 6, 2009 at 9:31 pm | Permalink

    Love that adorable face! And what an amazing thing you are doing. I’m not sure if I could give her up either.

    We’ve always waited until we had our dogs a few days to decide on a name but if I had to pick one right now I’ll go for Lola. I love the name Lola.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:46 am | Permalink

      Aww, thanks so much! Yeah, I will probably see how her personality is before I decide. BUt it’s good to get ideas. Thanks for the input!!

  8. Justin
    Posted August 6, 2009 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    Cute dog! I vote for Cujo.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:45 am | Permalink

      Cujette, perhaps?

  9. Posted August 7, 2009 at 7:38 pm | Permalink

    Lovely dog! Would she not have a name already?

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:27 pm | Permalink

      Yes she already has a name but they encouraged us to change it if we wanted. Most likely she’s never been treated as a pet and wouldn’t know her name (Nelly).

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. justmeandthevoices
    Posted August 7, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    Test

    Sent from my iPhone

  11. Posted August 7, 2009 at 10:25 pm | Permalink

    SQUEE!! If she was any cuter I’d have a freakin heart attack! OMG I love her and I want to roll around in the yard with her until we’re all grassy and panting.

    ahem

    I vote for Kaia.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 8, 2009 at 10:19 am | Permalink

      Oooh, wanna come over so I can watch you do that? Actually I’ll probably be doing it too, so we can just roll around together. Hmmm. That sounded better in my head.

  12. Posted August 8, 2009 at 4:15 pm | Permalink

    Awwwwwwww I think I just fell in love (but shhhh, don’t tell the newfie that we’re waiting to someday adopt – a rescue from the local branch of the Newfoundland Club of America), a little bit. She’s a beauty. It breaks my heart when I hear about puppy mills.

    We have four cats right now (yes we are insane) and people think we’re just nuts to get a dog, but, well, what can I say?

    I can’t wait to read your posts once you get your little Shiba!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 9, 2009 at 9:15 am | Permalink

      Ohh, a newfie! I’ve never seen one in person, but they look so adorable. Big and fluffy! I had three cats at one time, so I can relate. Can’t wait to see how your newfie does with four cats! That’ll make for some good blog fodder. 😉

  13. Posted August 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm | Permalink

    What a beauty!! My daughter is Lily, so I am partial to that, but love Willow for a dog. 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 11, 2009 at 7:31 am | Permalink

      My name means Lily, so I love that too. (A little egomaniac, yes I am.) Hubby says Willow sounds like a boy because of the movie. But what does he know? Willow is SUCH a girl’s name!!

  14. Posted August 15, 2009 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

    I have a couple of great friends with Shiba’s. Janet at Fond of Snape has great pics of her Shiba, Wolf, on her site.

    It’s hard to imagine giving up a dog you’ve had for a while. I think I’d pick myself as well.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 16, 2009 at 10:43 am | Permalink

      Oooh, I’m going to have to check out her site!! And yours too!! Thanks so much for the comment!

  15. Posted August 17, 2009 at 9:10 pm | Permalink

    She’s absolutely gorgeous! I don’t believe that color is accepted by the AKC, but who cares!!! Good luck 🙂 And be warned…they are a handful! Also…read this…and while it’s funny, lots of it is true 🙂

    http://shibainus.ca/tms-in-a-nutshell-or-blast-from-the-past/

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 18, 2009 at 9:03 am | Permalink

      Thanks!! And yeah, I don’t care about pedigree that much 🙂 That article was hilarious, and a little scary too!! I hope I get one of the good ones! Keeping my fingers crossed!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Rescue Mission Remember how I told you I was going to be a foster Mom for a Shiba Inu? […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

