Melancholy

I’m feeling very melancholy today. It was the first day of school for the boys, and I started the day off with tears in my eyes driving them to their respective bus stops. 

Their birthdays don’t really affect me this way. But starting school is different. It’s like a mile marker in the timeline of how much time I have left before they grow up. The miles just keep whizzing by, seemingly faster and faster every year.

I know this is the way it’s supposed to be, that we all raise our babies to eventually leave us someday. And I know tomorrow will be better.

But today? I don’t want them to grow up.

  SIGNATURE

 

 

 

Oh, and I got a speeding ticket at lunch. That certainly didn’t help matters.

14 Comments

  1. jerseygirl89
    Posted August 19, 2009 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

    I’m sorry you had a crappy day. And I think you should repost the totally awesome comment you left on my blog here. It made me laugh.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 8:39 am | Permalink

      Thanks! I’m having a better day today. And it’s so funny, because I just got some pictures via email this morning of my son at one of those parties. There’s three pics, one he’s holding a small snake, another he’s got a pretty big alligator (with nothing holding his mouth shut), and in the last one he’s got a scorpion. The pervy Reptile Man isn’t in the pics, though. 😉

  2. Posted August 20, 2009 at 2:33 am | Permalink

    I’ve been buying my son his first uniform. I will be shedding a tear, too, when he goes back to school.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 8:36 am | Permalink

      Aww, that’s got to be rough. Why does parenting have to be so damn hard sometimes? Good luck!! 🙂

  3. Posted August 20, 2009 at 11:25 am | Permalink

    I hate melancholy days. I’m sorry.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

      Thanks, AB 🙂

  4. Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm | Permalink

    Ugh. I very much know how you feel. My baby goest to 1st grade on Monday and the lump is already working it’s way into my throat. *sigh*

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

      It’s so hard, isn’t it? Although I was much worse last year. I had one starting middle school, and the other starting kindergarten. Now that was bad!!

      Thanks for visiting! I added your blog to my reader 🙂

  5. Posted August 20, 2009 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

    Sorry about the speeding ticket! Our bus doesn’t arrive until after the 8th – is it terrible that I’m SO excited?!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 20, 2009 at 4:09 pm | Permalink

      Wow, that’s late! And heck no it’s not terrible to be excited! I was excited for mine to go back too. They were both bored, and I knew they were ready to go back. Just that one day kind of got to me 😉

  6. Posted August 21, 2009 at 7:43 am | Permalink

    I got a seatbelt ticket on the way home from my little girls soccer practice yesterday. I was th only one not wearing one. I have a pissed off post coming about it too. Hope today is better for you.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 7:50 am | Permalink

      BUMMER!! My stepdaughter got a speeding ticket yesterday too!! Both of ours were like $100. I checked the back of the ticket, and seatbelt violations only cost $10. Hopefully yours is as inexpensive as that!

  7. Posted August 21, 2009 at 8:44 am | Permalink

    I like to call my melancholy days an Eeyore Day. Somehow that makes it a little less melancholy.

    Hope today is going better for you.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 8:57 am | Permalink

      Eeyore days, I like that! And yes, today is MUCH better. Thanks so much! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

