Rescue Mission

Remember how I told you I was going to be a foster Mom for a Shiba Inu?

Well, the transport of the dogs to all the foster homes is happening this weekend. The breeder is in Ft. Smith, Arkansas, and the foster homes are in St. Louis (me), Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Texas and Michigan. So, in order to get all the dogs to their respective foster homes, they set up a transport schedule, consisting of several 90-mile legs. Then volunteers sign up to drive a leg or two in order to keep the dogs moving down the road.

Well, apparently there aren’t any people (except me) in the organization that live anywhere between Ft. Smith and St. Louis, so no one was volunteering for first five legs. The breeder would only drive the dogs one leg (thanks a lot!). If all the transport legs were not filled, then the dogs would be euthanized.

Obviously, I couldn’t let this happen, so I decided to drive the four legs to get the dogs from the border of Arkansas to St. Louis.  Consequently, my stepdaughter Rosie and I will drive to Bentonville, AR (Headquarters of Wal-Mart! Ugh.) tonight, stay in a hotel, and meet the breeder at 8:30 in the morning to take the dogs.

Here’s the fun part. There are NINE dogs. Four of them are 8-month-old male puppies, and the remaining five are females, all 6 to 9 years old. We will have four crates, so there will be two dogs per crate (with the exception of the puppies, who will have to bunk up three-in-one).

I asked the coordinator how often we’d need to stop for potty breaks, and she told me that the puppies would only need to stop once during the five-hour journey, but the older females could last the whole way. This was good news.

Shiba Inus have a very high tendency to bolt. Because of this, they must be on a leash at all times when outside. I only have one leash/collar, so we’ll have to take the puppies out one by one to potty. I actually may go buy another set today so we can do it two-by-two and speed up the process.

Once we get to St. Louis, I’ll meet up with the next person on the transport schedule, who will take the eight remaining dogs, and we’ll take our new girl home. It’s definitely going to be an interesting trip! I’ll take lots of pictures and report back after we get settled in.

Wish me luck, and have a great weekend!

SIGNATURE

 

 

 

p.s. Did I mention NINE dogs????

13 Comments

  1. Posted August 21, 2009 at 11:26 am | Permalink

    awesome! Sounds like its going to be a fun weekend. 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 4:30 pm | Permalink

      Yes, I’m very excited! FYI, I added you to my blogroll! 😉

  2. Posted August 21, 2009 at 11:38 am | Permalink

    Oh, what an adventure! I can’t wait until next week’s blog update!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 4:31 pm | Permalink

      Yes, you’ll get the first look!!

  3. Posted August 21, 2009 at 12:41 pm | Permalink

    Just think of all the stories you’ll have to tell! Good Luck!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

      Thanks!!!

  4. Posted August 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

    Good luck on the trip! I’m looking forward to the pictures.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 21, 2009 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

      Thanks!! By the way, I added you to my blogroll 😉

  5. Posted August 22, 2009 at 7:13 am | Permalink

    Nine! Nine dogs! Wow!

    At least it’s dogs and not four eight month old babies and 6 to 9 year olds! Now that would be a trip wouldn’t want to take!

    Everything about this adventure seems to require an exclamation point after it! 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 23, 2009 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

      You are SO right. Babies and kids I couldn’t have handled! But the dogs did AWESOME!

  6. Posted August 22, 2009 at 12:17 pm | Permalink

    I love you because you’re nuts. Good luck.

  7. Posted August 22, 2009 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    Holy ass-crackers! Nine dogs! Damn. And I’d thought 2000 miles with two cats was going to be bad.

    You might check with the breeder and see if their vet would prescribe a tranquilizer for the pups. I’m not sure how it works with dogs, but we got some for our kitties so they’ll be a little calmer, a little less freaked out during the trip. Just a thought.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted August 23, 2009 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

      The dogs did wonderfully!!! I was amazed. Nice and calm for five straight hours in the car. And 2000 miles with two cats would probably be worse, actually. All the crying and barfing.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Just Me…And The Voices Do you hear them too? « Rescue Mission […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

