Dog is My Co-Pilot

You’re probably getting sick of hearing about the dog, but she’s the big news in my life right now. So, as my youngest taught me (as taught to him by daycare), “You get what you get, and you don’t throw a fit.”

I’d never really been that much of a dog person. I preferred cats. Cats are easy. They don’t require much care, they’re clean, they don’t smell, they don’t require walks or trips outside to potty. Again, easy.

My husband however, hates cats with the fire of a thousand suns has a fairly strong dislike toward cats. So when my burning need to mother something other than my children surfaced, I stumbled upon the Shiba Inu Rescue Association and became a foster mom to Kaia.

Who's a good girl? That's right! Kaia's a good girl! Yes you are! Yes you are! *smoochie smoochie*

Who's a good girl? That's right! Kaia's a good girl! Yes you are! Yes you are! *smoochie smoochie*

This little girl has stolen my heart! She’s still pretty shy, because her life prior to this one was all about having puppies. She had very little human contact, so she’s shy around new people, especially men. But she’s getting better day by day. Also, she’s no longer a foster. She’s what we call a “foster failure”, meaning we’re adopting her ourselves!

One of the best parts about having her is our daily (sometimes more) walks. She loves to be outside, and would probably walk for hours if I could hack it. I initially thought that I would dread having to walk her every day, but it’s turned out to be quite the opposite.

Reasons Why Walking My Dog Is Awesome:

  1. I get to be outside every day. And the fact that I actually enjoy this is quite amazing. (Of course, check back with me when it’s either 95 degrees or zero degrees and see how much I enjoy the outdoors then.) But now? Sunshine! Vitamin D! Nature! Bizarre people!
  2. We meet other dogs and dog owners on our little jaunts. I’ve found that I really love swapping stories with the other owners about the details of our dogs and how they came to be ours. We’re on a first-name basis with some of the dogs: Whiskey Pete, Dexter, and Cleveland just to name a few.
  3. During these walks, I can relax and have time to myself to unwind.  Or when my sons or my husband join me, I get to spend precious quality time with them. Nature Boy and I can hold hands and stroll, while Surfer Boy and Smart-Aleck like to ride their bikes beside me as I walk. Or, if I’m alone I can play on my iPhone ponder my existence.
  4. I surely MUST be burning additional calories on these walks. I mean, before Kaia came along, I’d be sitting on the couch during what is now walk time. So yeah, I’m expecting lots of weight to start falling off any day now. Yep. Any day.

And it’s a good thing that I’m enjoying the walks so much. Because we’re getting another Shiba on September 19th! This one is a cream-colored, 3-year-old male. He’s rumored to be VERY good-natured and loving, and very energetic. I figured that would be a good match for Kaia. The yang to her yin. (*snort*) And the boys will probably enjoy having a younger dog around, one that will fetch and play.

But our new boy is going to be a foster dog. He’ll be posted for adoption within two weeks after we get him.  Unless…

SIGNATURE

19 Comments

  1. Posted September 9, 2009 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    So cute!

    I am predicting that the new boy will not be leaving your house. Just a prediction though…. 🙂

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 9, 2009 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

      HA! You may be right! But don’t tell my husband! 😉

    • Posted April 15, 2011 at 7:54 am | Permalink

      1aL0Qp You’ve hit the ball out the park! Inecribdle!

  2. Posted September 9, 2009 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

    Yeay!!!! I knew you would totally adopt her. I knew it!

    I kind of wanted a dog, but I feel guilty about having one in an apt… and I’d want a large dog (not a tiny one).

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 8:44 am | Permalink

      As soon as I saw her sweet face, I knew I was a goner. We’ll see how it goes with the boy. He may be a bit tougher, since he’s all young and playful. Everyone’s been telling me that having two is easier than one.

      I wouldn’t count out the possibility of having a large dog in an apartment. As long as he gets time out of there to walk, play, etc. What kind of dog?

  3. Posted September 9, 2009 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    Beautiful dog!

    Also – I always thought it was “you get what you get and you don’t get upset.” I guess there are all different variations on this. Funny that preschoolers are familiar with a concept that eludes most adults…

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 8:41 am | Permalink

      Your variation is much more refined. Ours sounds like the redneck version: “You git what you git and you don’t throw a fit.” And you’re so right! Sometimes that concept slips his mind. Often, in fact. 😉

  4. Posted September 9, 2009 at 10:48 pm | Permalink

    Meeting dog people is totally interesting. I know someone in the neighborhood who stopped to ask me about Auggie. When I said that he was from the store (I was on my way out the door btw) and that I was ashamed of it, she literally turned her back to me and walked away.

    Like. Um. Okay. It’s not AUGGIE’s fault he was from a store.

    Your sweet baby looks just like Augs. I bet they’d have fun together.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 8:39 am | Permalink

      How rude! You should have totally popped a cap in her.

      Yes, they would have a blast together. There’s a Shiba Howloween Party in Chicago. I know you live somewhere in IL. Let me know if you’d be interested and I can send you the info. Wish I could go!

  5. Posted September 10, 2009 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    You’re so going to end up with two dogs! Those walks sound divine.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 1:28 pm | Permalink

      HEH! Maybe so!! If not this one, then another I’m sure.

  6. Posted September 10, 2009 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

    “You get what you get, and you don’t throw a fit.”

    I love that! I am going to start using it on a daily basis around here as a certain 3 year old little girl I know could really use it!

    And yeah, you are soooo going to end up with two dogs. That’s why we haven’t hurried the process of getting a Newfie, along. We already have 4 cats and are considering rescuing a 5th. I know I love Newfies but seriously, there are only so many 160lb+ dogs that this house can hold!

    BTW, Kaia is adorable!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

      I can’t guarantee it will work, but it’s another phrase you can add to your arsenal. 😉

      Five cats!! That would be wild! Of course an additional cat isn’t that big of a deal, since they’re so low maintenance. I can just see a gigantic newfie running around with five cats. They’d probably have him in line in no time!

      Thanks 🙂 Obviously I’m pretty fond of her!

  7. Posted September 10, 2009 at 11:21 pm | Permalink

    I fall into the same category as your husband.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 11, 2009 at 7:56 am | Permalink

      He’ll be pleased to know that he has yet another person in his club. I try to make him feel like he’s Beelzebub for “disliking” cats. But it never works. 🙂

  8. Posted September 11, 2009 at 12:21 am | Permalink

    Congrats on your new family member! I love dogs. I could never “foster” them because I would adopt every single one I came into contact with …

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 11, 2009 at 7:55 am | Permalink

      Thanks!! And yeah, I think I may have that same problem! But it’s good to be able to “test drive” them first!

  9. Posted September 11, 2009 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

    A) I love that your kiddoe learned that at day care, and uses it!!
    B) Yeah right about the boy being only a foster dog… 🙂
    C) I love walking my dog too.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 11, 2009 at 2:06 pm | Permalink

      He’s probably sorry that he brought that saying home, because I use it on him now. 😉

      We walked Kaia with two other dogs last night, a huge Doberman and a Vizsla. They had a great time. The boys sniffed her like crazy, and she just sat there like, “Go ahead. Everyone else does.” Heh.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

