Are You Kidding Me????

I am really angry right now, so this may not be that coherent.

I just called both of my sons’ schools, and neither one of them showed Obama’s speech today. I spoke to the principal of the middle school and asked him to tell me what I’m supposed to tell my child about why they chose not to air a speech given by the President of the United States, specifically to school children about education.

He said that I should tell my son that it was up to each teacher to decide whether the speech fit the current curriculum, and that his teachers felt that it didn’t fit, and so they didn’t show it.

At which point I told him that was a bunch of bullshit. It’s THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES talking to SCHOOL CHILDREN about EDUCATION! How can it NOT fit the curriculum?

I added that if the speech had been given by George W. Bush, it would have been played without question. He said to me, “You’re probably right, and to tell you the truth I wish they would have played it.”

The elementary school told me the same thing, so it must have been a district-wide decision. A decision that was made without notifying any of the parents.

 Am I getting upset over nothing?

SIGNATURE

12 Comments

  1. pandorican
    Posted September 11, 2009 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    Agh. Sorry. I wasn’t sure our school was going to show it either, they never sent anything home about it or mentioned it one way or another. I TIVO’d it just in case they didn’t though.

  2. Posted September 11, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink

    You’re definitely absolutely right at being annoyed. I’m kind of pissed of that they don’t treat Obama like they should treat the President of the USA. Its a lot of bullshit. Granted I don’t have kids, so I don’t know at how many schools it was played at around here.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 12, 2009 at 10:43 am | Permalink

      Yes, the lack of respect is just so unbelievable. Heckling him, walking out, etc. You can disagree with the man and still respect him as the leader of our country.

  3. Posted September 11, 2009 at 7:01 pm | Permalink

    I don’t think you are getting upset over nothing, BUT…

    I think that you are wrong about saying that George W. Bush would have gotten away with it. This same thing happened during 9/11 eight years ago when Bush wanted to speak to school children about what just happened to our country.

    I agree to too big of a deal was made over this, but it certainly wouldn’t have been any different if a Republican president had wanted to do this…

  4. Posted September 12, 2009 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    I totally agree with you. Bullshit bullshit bullshit. Going to post about it in a couple minutes.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 12, 2009 at 10:40 am | Permalink

      Oooh, can’t wait to read YOURS.

  5. Posted September 12, 2009 at 10:00 am | Permalink

    Sister, I am mad FOR you. Ugh.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 12, 2009 at 10:39 am | Permalink

      Thanks, it’s nice to have others in my corner 🙂

  6. Posted September 12, 2009 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

    You’re not upset about nothing. That’s a major education fail there.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 13, 2009 at 10:59 am | Permalink

      Amen, sister!!

  7. Posted September 12, 2009 at 9:27 pm | Permalink

    As a representative of the rest of the world, the reaction to Obama’s speech was insane. WTH? He’s the leader of your country?

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted September 13, 2009 at 10:59 am | Permalink

      Not sure if you’re agreeing with me or not. 😉


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

