Boycott

Wow, folks it’s been way too long since I’ve posted! I’ve been so busy at work. I’m not talking just a little busy, I’m talking about, “Hi, I’m going on a shooting spree, care to join me?” busy. And I’ve had quite a few takers on that offer, as a matter of fact. Thankfully the body count is still holding at zero.

The big news from the last couple of weeks is that we have a new addition to the family!

Meet Chloe!

Meet Chloe!

Chloe2

Chloe is approximately 7-8 years old. Like Kaia, we got her through a puppy mill release (more on that in a minute) about a week and a half ago. She’s much bigger than Kaia (24 lbs compared to Kaia’s 13 lbs.), but she’s such a sweetheart.

Thankfully, she and Kaia are getting along very well. They snooze on top of each other during the day in their little hidey hole corner. And, to my total surprise, last night I caught a rare glimpse them playing together! They love going for walks with me, and their stamina seems to be better than mine.

KaiaChloe

Double Trouble

I already love her so much that I’m probably going to keep her too, just like Kaia. (Apparently I’m kind of crappy at this fostering thing. At some point I’m going to have to stop adopting them.) Thankfully, Chloe’s life will be a good one from now on. But let me tell you about her life before being rescued.

As I said above, Chloe came to me via a puppy mill release. In this release, there were over 300 dogs, many of whom were pregnant females. This would indicate that it probably wasn’t a voluntary surrender, but more likely a bust. Puppy mill owners aren’t going to voluntarily surrender a pregnant female, because that’s like giving away cash.

The most disturbing part of this release is that the mill was run by the Amish. Yes, the peaceful folk that make all the beautiful quilts and yummy baked goods. I was shocked, too. I’ve since learned that they are one of the worst offenders when it comes to puppy mills. They see the dogs as livestock, as a cash crop and nothing more.

In order to keep hundreds of dogs on their property, they often have to debark them so they won’t be heard by the public. This is usually done by jamming a metal pipe or its equivalent down the dog’s throat to scar the vocal chords. They also oftentimes perform c-sections on the females, without any veterinary presence, and with no anesthesia.

Don’t believe me? Watch this video:

http://abcnews.go.com/Business/story?id=7187712&page=1&page=1

When I picked up Chloe, she smelled so bad that I took her to Petco for a bath before even bringing her home. Her nails were so long it was difficult for her to walk. Once we got them trimmed she was somewhat better, but she had no clue how to walk on carpet, tile, grass, etc. She kind of pranced for a couple of days, lifting her legs up really high as she walked.

She is missing several teeth due to no dental care. I shudder to think of how they handled a dog with bad teeth. Did they just let them rot out of her head, or did they pull them with no anesthesia? Either way, I can’t imagine the pain she must have endured.

She just received all of her shots, and remarkably got a clean bill of health. Next week she will be spayed, have her teeth cleaned, and get microchipped. She will live in the lap of luxury for the rest of her life. No more pregnancies, no more puppies being taken away from her, no more living in wire cages without a solid bottom on which to stand.

But what about the rest of the countless number of dogs in puppy mills around the country? Sadly this is a shady business, and most of them never get caught.

So how can you help put puppy mills out of business? Hit them where it hurts, their bottom line. NEVER buy a puppy from a pet store. Adopt. Rescue. There are so many wonderful, beautiful dogs out there in need of a home. And if you want a purebred, be sure and use a reputable breeder. Do your research and visit the breeder’s facilities!

As far as the Amish are concerned, I’m sure not all of them run puppy mills, so I’m trying not to persecute the entire lot. But you can bet your ass I’m not going to be buying any Amish quilts, furniture or baked goods in the foreseeable future.

SIGNATURE

21 Comments

  1. Posted November 3, 2009 at 12:30 pm | Permalink

    My heart is breaking for these dogs! I’m outraged – the AMISH?! I would have never guessed.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 3, 2009 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

      Insane isn’t it??? I was totally shocked.

  2. Posted November 3, 2009 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    I had no idea! I thought the Amish were supposed to be good! They deserve to be “shunned” from now on… that is, those that participate in this. 😦

    Good for you, for taking on another. I would love to rescue a greyhound, but until I get a bigger house, that dream will have to be put on hold. Also, I’m allergic. Hmmmm. We’ll see.

    Glad to see you back here. =)

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 3, 2009 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

      I KNOW! I totally didn’t believe the person that told me, so I had to Google it myself, and sure enough it’s true. You could always compromise and get a smaller, hypo-allergenic dog! And I’m glad to be back!!

  3. Posted November 3, 2009 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    That dog is SO precious. I just want to snuggle her. Gooooodness. Good for you. Glad we have people like you in the world!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 3, 2009 at 4:51 pm | Permalink

      Aww, thanks! They’re such good girls, even though they sometimes have a peeing competition in the living room.

  4. Posted November 3, 2009 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    I am shocked and disheartened. I will never be able to comprehend the greed and length some people will go to for a quick buck.

    P.S. Chloe is a sweetheart. My hat is off to you for this eye opening post.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 3, 2009 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

      Thank you so much. I totally agree that it’s unbelievable what people will do for money. The Golden Rule just doesn’t apply for people like this. They should get a taste of their own behavior.

  5. Posted November 3, 2009 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    That is shocking! I know very little about puppy mills… What a beautiful dog – I’m so glad to hear a happy rescue story along with the sad truth about that terrible industry.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 3, 2009 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

      Yes, I’m learning more and more about the mills, and none of it is good. I can’t believe people are so cruel. I’m so naive sometimes.

  6. Posted November 4, 2009 at 8:04 pm | Permalink

    I hang my head in shame because Auggie came from a pet store. Against all better judgment on my own part, I know. It’s not his fault and it always makes me feel awful when I think about it.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 5, 2009 at 8:58 am | Permalink

      Aww, Becky. Don’t worry about it. Auggie is a wonderful dog and you saved HIM! And you’re absolutely right, it’s not his fault. It’s those evil people who only care about making a buck. Give him a hug for me. But no kisses, I know where that mouth has been.

  7. Posted November 5, 2009 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    Wow! Chloe is a beauty!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 5, 2009 at 2:39 pm | Permalink

      Thanks!!

  8. Posted November 6, 2009 at 3:13 am | Permalink

    I am so shocked and saddened by this.

    You are wonderful for getting the word out and adopting these poor animals.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 6, 2009 at 9:43 am | Permalink

      Thanks, Kelley. I don’t know if the same things go on in Australia. Hopefully they don’t!!

  9. Posted November 8, 2009 at 11:11 am | Permalink

    Personally, I think a better way of shutting the puppy mill would be by putting the owners down, but that’s just me.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 9, 2009 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

      Oh hell yes. If only we could do that.

  10. Posted November 13, 2009 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    Good for you! She’s a beauty (Shiba Inu?). I have to agree with the Captain though – all of my animals have been rescues and I know at least one was a puppy mill survivor – the thought of what she must have gone through makes me ill and so very angry.

    Just found your site through Redneck Mommy and I’m so glad I did.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted November 13, 2009 at 5:59 pm | Permalink

      Thanks so much! And yes. both of my dogs are Shibas. They are soooo sweet. Don’t even get me started on what I’d like to do to these puppy mill people!! I’m so glad you found my blog. Hope you like it and come back! I’m going to check out your shutterfly site when I get home. Work computer won’t let me. 😦

  11. Posted May 2, 2013 at 7:06 pm | Permalink

    Thanks to my father who informed me on the topic of this webpage, this blog
    is truly awesome.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

