Happy Birthday, Daddy-O!

OK I know it’s been a LONG while, but I’ve unburied myself from my pile of work, and my vacation, to write this very important post. I hope you all are having a wonderful holiday season!!

Today is Daddy-O’s birthday! I’m 41, so he must be 85. Right, Daddy? OK maybe I’m off a bit. 67? 68? Hell, I don’t know. He’s old though.

Even though he’s old, he’s extremely talented. He can whistle through his eyes (seriously!), move his scalp without touching it, make cricket noises, cross one eye, and all sorts of other cool stuff (some of which, he’s passed on to me).

Dad with 50 grapes in his mouth. Also note that one eye is crossed. That's talent, people. Pure and simple.

I have so many good memories of him from my childhood. Like the time he got his wisdom teeth pulled. We were sitting at the dinner table and all of a sudden his eyes started rolling around in his head. My brother and I were cracking up, as he was always quite the jokester. That is, until he passed out on the floor. Which, at the time was kind of scary, but it cracks my shit up now to think about.

Or the time when I got my finger stuck in the hole at the top of my brother’s football helmet. We tried the usual methods to get it out, to no avail. But my dad is an engineer. One with lots of tools, and a mind for solving problems. So he decides to DRILL A HOLE in the helmet right next to the hole where my finger was, then file the little section in between so my finger could be freed, Yes, it worked. But people, I was like FOUR. Try to reason with a 4-year old about why drilling mere centimeters from her finger is a good idea.

Uhhhh, a little help here?

Sweet freedom, and scarred for life

But, in all seriousness, he’s the best Dad a girl could have. He is supportive, loving, genuine, hilarious and fun. He taught me that I could be or do anything I wanted in life (even when I told him I wanted to be a frog). He encouraged me to try things, even when I was scared.

Like that one time in Colorado. I was about eight years old, and we’d taken the T-bar to the top of the bunny slope. Because it was my first time skiing, I was scared shitless to go down that huge “mountain”, and was making quite a fuss of it. He’d had enough and basically told me, “You’re going to do this.” So, I just did it. And LOVED it. I spent the entire day riding up the lift and skiing back down (with no poles) directly into the lift line again.

So here’s to you Dad. Hope your birthday is filled with love, joy and laughter. And know that no matter how old I get, I’ll still be Daddy’s little girl.

5 Comments

  1. Honeybee
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    It’s great, Voices. He chuckled, then chortled, then belly-laughed all through the reading. When finished, with guffaw’s and eyes all lit up with love he said, “She’s SUCH a good girl!” Thanks for making him so happy today!

  2. Posted December 22, 2009 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    So sweet! And what an adorable little girl (that has to be your mother holding you, because, damn, she looks exactly like you!).

  3. Daddy-O
    Posted December 22, 2009 at 10:29 am | Permalink

    Well, My Love, you’ve done it again: made me laugh until I hurt! In fact, I may not be able to talk with you when you call–I’ve pee’d my pants and I gotta go clean up!!

    Yes, I’m old. And kinda slow of wit. I mean, like last night, when you were asking for the photos, I’m thinking, “She’s planning some sort of Christmas surprise for her Mom–how sweet!” Then, about midnight, I woke up and thought, “Duh, is it just coincidence she is asking for this the day before my birthday???”

    Thank you so much–it is a lovely birthday present!! Just yesterday, Honeybee & I were riding in the car and I mentioned that it is almost impossible for me to look at a photo of you without laughing–now that’s love in action!

    Love, Dad

  4. Posted December 30, 2009 at 3:46 am | Permalink

    I love a Daddy’s girl. Hope he had a great day and I smiled reading his comment.

    From another Daddy’s girl.

  5. Posted December 31, 2009 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

    Whistle through his eyes?! Why isn’t this man president? I’m so jealous.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

