Thirteen

My dearest son,

Today you are 13. How in the world can that be? How did you go from being this tiny, helpless baby to a TEENAGER in such a short period of time? I know it seems like a long time to you, but for me it’s like an instant has passed.

When I found out I was pregnant with you, I was ecstatic. I had always loved babies, and I knew that motherhood was at the top of my list of things I wanted to accomplish in my life. But when that pregnancy test came up positive, I couldn’t believe it was true, so I rushed to the store to buy two more, both of which were positive. Holy crap! I was going to have a BABY!! Your father was so happy, too. You were loved from the minute we knew you existed. And that love that has never, ever faltered.

My pregnancy was uneventful and normal, although it went much too slowly for me because I was so anxious to see you, to be your Mom. Toward the end, I was having some big-time back pain, and I felt that if I could just take a big poop I’d feel so much better. (I know this is TMI for you, but humor your mother, please.)

I went to my last appointment on a Friday and begged the doctor to induce labor. I threw in some tears for good measure. Naturally he fell for my dramatics, and I was told that we should arrive at the hospital at 11:30 p.m. on Saturday night, so they could get me admitted right at midnight. (for some insurance reason, I don’t know.)

I called Grammy and Gramps and told them you’d be arriving soon, so they planned to drive up the next day. However, a couple of hours later, Grammy called back and said they were going to head out that night instead of the next day and drive halfway. She had a “feeling” that I was going to go into labor soon, and wanted to be ready. I chalked that up to her excitement.

That night around 10:00, my back pain suddenly got much worse, so much so that I was on my hands and knees in agony. But after about a minute it was gone. ALL the back pain I’d been experiencing in the last couple of weeks was gone. What a relief! I went on folding laundry, and about 20 minutes later I got that same horrible pain. Lasted a minute and it was gone. AHA!! I was in LABOR! Grammy was right! (as usual) 😉

I woke up your dad to tell him I was in labor, told him to go back to sleep and that I’d let him know when it was “time”. I couldn’t sleep, so I just stayed up timing my contractions. Once they got to be 5 minutes apart, I called the doctor and he told me to come on in to the hospital.

We arrived around 4 a.m., and I immediately asked for an epidural. They wouldn’t give me one, because my contractions were about 6 minutes apart at that time, and they wanted them to be closer together before they gave it to me. Jerks.

They had me walk around the hospital to try to get the contractions to come more often. I did this for about an hour, and it didn’t work. So, they decided to give me this medicine called Pitocin which not only speeds up the contractions but also makes them MUCH stronger. Sweetheart let me tell you, labor HURTS. But labor with Pitocin is much, much worse. (This is the guilt portion of the story which I will probably bring up periodically throughout your life.) Thankfully I only had a couple of contractions before they gave me the epidural.

(Now, let me tell you something here and now, son. Someday when you get married and your wife is in labor, make SURE she gets an epidural. She will go from Satan’s bride to an even-sweeter-than-normal version of herself in mere seconds. Instead of digging her fingernails into your hand while screaming, “YOU did this to me!!”, she’ll be professing her love for you endlessly.)

Suffice it to say that I LOVED the epidural. All was right with the world.

All I had to do then was wait until it was time to push. After a few hours, that time came. I’ll leave out the gory details (you’re welcome!), but I pushed for about 30 minutes and you were out. As soon as I looked down and saw you I said, “Oh my God!”. I was just so shocked and awed that there was actually A BABY, a real person, in there! I was overjoyed.

And that was just the beginning. Throughout your 13 years, you have brought me more joy than I have ever known. And I am so proud of the young man you’ve become.

You are so smart that it boggles my mind sometimes. I hear you talking about the things you’ve learned in school, and I’m amazed at how much you know. You get straight A’s in school, and I never have to help you with homework. Thank God, because I’m pretty sure you know more than me at this point.

You are also such a wonderful person. You’re outgoing, kind and loving. You have lots of friends, and people enjoy having you around. I’ve been told by many adults what a great, well-mannered kid you are, and that makes me so proud!

You’re also an excellent sportsman. I’m in awe of your physical abilities in the sports arena. You’re always up for the challenge of playing up with kids who are older than you, or for trying new sports like swim team. I wish I had your natural talent. (I’m pretty sure you got that from Dad.)

And of course, you’re damn good-looking. I’m sure the girls will be all over you any time now, if they aren’t already. Are they? You’d tell your mother wouldn’t you?

One more thing. Even though you bug the crap out of each other at any given moment, you really are an excellent role model for your little brother. He looks up to you so much, even though you don’t realize it. Thanks for being such a great big brother.

I could go on and on about the wonders of you, but you’re probably getting all embarrassed by now and wish I would just stop already. OK, I will. But not before I say that I love you and I am so honored and blessed to be your mother. I will ALWAYS love you, no matter what. Thank you for being my son for 13 years.

Happy Birthday, Alex. Today we celebrate YOU. 🙂

Love,
Mom

13 Comments

  1. Posted January 11, 2010 at 9:24 am | Permalink

    What a great letter to your son. You’ve given me hope that my 3-going-on-30 year old demon-spawn will turn around and grow into someone I’m proud of. 😉

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted January 11, 2010 at 9:41 am | Permalink

      Oh, thanks so much! Yes, don’t worry. It will come so much faster than you want. He’ll still be your demon spawn, just in different ways!! Like when they start to understand how to use sarcasm properly. That’s fun. 😉

  2. Honeybee
    Posted January 11, 2010 at 10:29 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday, Alex! With great parents like you have, your fine mind and great personality, there is nothing you can’t do! Your Grandpa and I have always been proud of you and now we can’t wait to see what you choose to do during your teenage years and beyond. We are here for you if you ever need our support.

    We love you!
    Grandma

  3. Posted January 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

    Happy birthday Alex!

    (I’m so with you on being grateful for epidurals.)

  4. Nature Boy
    Posted January 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    Happy Birthday Alex!! Hope 13 is your lucky number!

    So happy to be your step dad!

  5. Grammy
    Posted January 11, 2010 at 8:14 pm | Permalink

    Alex,
    Just like your mother, I have loved you since the moment I saw you, which was in the delivery room.
    You are the best gift your mother ever game me.
    Gramps and I are so very proud of everything about you because you are a wonderful, caring, and loving person. I brag about you to all of my friends because I am so very proud to be your grandmother.
    You are the best! I love you with all my heart.
    Grammy

  6. Posted January 12, 2010 at 4:55 am | Permalink

    what a beautiful letter to your boy. Melted my cold black heart.

    Happy Birthday dude.

  7. Posted January 12, 2010 at 9:50 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday to your beautiful boy!

  8. Posted January 12, 2010 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    what a handsome young man! Happy, happy birthday!

  9. Lori
    Posted January 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm | Permalink

    Wonderful kid. Wonderful mom. I hope he had a great birthday. Can’t believe you have a teenager!

  10. Posted January 12, 2010 at 4:10 pm | Permalink

    I was induced and waited about 40 minutes to get the epidural. Rookie mistake – pitocin kicks your ass.

    Happy birthday to your beautiful boy!

  11. AZ Colleen
    Posted January 21, 2010 at 8:44 am | Permalink

    What a cutie!

    He may be embarrassed now but he’s going to love and cherish this letter always.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted January 22, 2010 at 11:32 am | Permalink

      Thanks! I read it out loud at his family birthday party, and surprisingly he wasn’t too terribly mortified! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

