Mommy

Dear Mom,

It’s your birthday today! (But you already knew that, right?)

I am so lucky and so blessed to have you as my mother.  I’ve read plenty of stories here in Blogland from women who weren’t anywhere near as fortunate as me. Stories that make me wish I could have had them all as sisters, so they wouldn’t have gone through what they did.

There has never been one second in my life where I doubted your love for me. I have always known it, and I always will. Thank you for giving me that gift, for it truly is one. And it’s one that I’ve passed on. The other day when I was putting Alex to bed, I said, “I love you. Don’t ever doubt that.” He looked at me like I was a complete idiot and said, “Why would I EVER doubt that?”

Thank you for teaching me that I could be anything I wanted to be, for always being my champion, for making me strong and independent, and for making sure that I knew my own self-worth.

Thank you for setting such a great example for what a mother should be. You are honest, loving and strong, with such fierce integrity.Thank you for teaching me that love is all that matters, even when it seems impossible to believe. That is embedded so deep in my heart and soul, and it carries me through even the darkest of days.

Most of all, thank you for letting me be ME, for allowing me to blossom throughout the years in my own way. I’ve made plenty of mistakes, and you were always there to help, but never in a way where I felt stifled or pressured to change.

You, my dear mommy, are a precious gem. A treasure of epic proportion and priceless value. And you are mine. And that has made all the difference.

Happy Birthday, Mom. I love you.

12 Comments

  1. Posted March 4, 2010 at 12:30 am | Permalink

    What a beautiful person to share a birthday with! 🙂 Happy Birthday to the woman that gave us “the voices”!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 9:53 am | Permalink

      Awww, happy birthday Tanna!!!

  2. Ellen Huffman
    Posted March 4, 2010 at 5:09 am | Permalink

    Happy Birthday!! You are a beautiful person and I am so glad to be a part of your life!! I love you very much!! You are very near and dear to my heart!! Love, Your Daughter-in-law.

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 9:52 am | Permalink

      She gets to be your “mom” too! How lucky!

  3. Posted March 4, 2010 at 5:30 am | Permalink

    Being given the room to grow and blossom at your own pace is truly a gift. My mom gave it to me to. Happy Birthday Suzy’s mom!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 9:51 am | Permalink

      Ahhh, that explains a lot about why I like you so much. 😉

  4. Honeybee
    Posted March 4, 2010 at 11:29 am | Permalink

    It’s a beautiful post, Suz, written with a heart full of love. That is who you are! You MUST’VE had a wonderful mother because how else could you be the fabulous person you are today? And a special “happy birthday” to your mom!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 11:58 am | Permalink

      Thanks, Honeybee! Your girls got just as lucky. 🙂

  5. Grammy
    Posted March 4, 2010 at 11:51 am | Permalink

    You are such a wonderful daughter and I am so very proud of you. Thank you for being all that I knew you could be and even more. I thank all of you for the uplifting comments. It has made my day. I also want to thank my daughter for the most wonderful gift that I have ever received, my handsome, talented,kind and loving grandsons – Alex and Jack.
    I hope that all of you have a happy and loving day.
    Grammy

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 11:56 am | Permalink

      Thanks, Mom. You’re the best! XOXOXOXOXO

  6. LC
    Posted March 4, 2010 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    Suzy and Grammy, you are both filled with such goodness and love. I am so lucky to be part of your family!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted March 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

      Thanks, sweetheart!! We’re very lucky to have you too!!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

