I’m So Lame I Missed My Own Blogiversary

Yeah, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? Hey, I’ve been busy! Here’s what I’ve been doing since we last communed.

Missing my one year blogiversary (blogaversary?): Yes, it’s been over a year since I started this blog, and I’ve published a whopping total of 53 (now 54) posts. Not that impressive.

Working out and losing weight: I have actually stuck with my workout/diet program for over three months now, which I think must be a new world’s record for me. I’ve lost 14 pounds, and a couple of sizes, so that’s a big yippee! I’m not done, though. I’ve got to see how far I can take this. I did quit taking the phentermine, because you’re not supposed to take it for more than three months. I haven’t gained any weight back, but I do miss that zippy feeling. I think my co-workers probably miss me being on it too.

Vacation in Puerto Rico: Nature Boy and I traveled to Puerto Rico in early May, and it was fabulous! We stayed at the El Conquistador resort (I can’t say that without using a deep, manly Latin accent) which was very nice, but EXTREMELY pricey. Luckily we were there for his work, and so they picked up a good portion of the bill. But really, $12 for a mixed drink?

Little league and soon-to-be swim team season: The boys are both playing baseball, so I have a minimum of 2-3 games a week to attend, on WEEKNIGHTS! Then, swim team starts June 14th, which means I’ll be at swim meets every Monday night for 5 hours at a time. It’s a damn good thing I love my children.

General apathy about my job: Actually it’s more than apathy. I think it’s moved into full-blown “WHO CARES?” mode. I really need to be doing something different with my life. I can feel that something is coming down the pike, but I’m just not sure what it is. I just need to be patient and know that it will all come in time.

God, I am boring myself to death with this post. I am literally yawning as I write this. No joke.

So, what’s up with you?

7 Comments

  1. Colleen
    Posted June 2, 2010 at 6:42 pm | Permalink

    Good to see (read) you! Way to go on the diet & exercise!!! 5 HOUR swim meets?!?! Good grief!

    Did you do that stair climb event? How did it go?

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted June 3, 2010 at 9:10 am | Permalink

      Thanks!! Yes, the swim meets are ridiculously long. Kids from 6-18 competing in tons of events. It gets a bit tedious. Having two kids in it makes it more bearable, because I don’t have to wait so long between races. One of them is swimming every 20 minutes or so. But by the time 10:00 rolls around, I’m done!

      The stairclimb went well! I did it in 12 minutes, which was a pretty average time for women in my age group. It was a tough 12 minutes though! Legs and lungs on fire the whole time. But I survived!! 🙂

  2. Posted June 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    WELCOME BACK! I, for one, have missed you! And you know what I have been up to…some tears, some drilling and a lot of sparkly sass!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted June 4, 2010 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

      Thanks, my beautiful friend! I think I may have missed the drilling part. I need to go back and review. 😉

  3. Posted June 4, 2010 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

    FIVE HOUR swim meets?! Bugh. And I thought three hour dance recitals were painful enough. Though I’m being paid to sit through them, so I should probably quit complaining. Shut up, Stephanie, shut up!

    • justmeandthevoices
      Posted June 4, 2010 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

      Yes, it’s ridiculous because they have all the age groups going all the time, I guess so everyone has ample time to rest in between races. My two boys usually have 3-4 races each, which are spread over the entire time. PLUS, I have to actually WORK at some of them, at the concession stand, or timing the races, etc. And I don’t get paid for that! Oooh, dance recitals are so fun! Not. I took dance as a pre-teen/teen and our dance recitals were 3 nights! Friday, Saturday and Sunday! My parents were saints, for sure.

    • Posted April 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm | Permalink

      VNaiUM I’m not easily impresesd. . . but that’s impressing me! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

